Adele Laurie Blue Adkins (; born 5 May 1988) is an English singer and songwriter. After graduating from the BRIT School for Performing Arts and Technology in 2006, Adele was given a recording contract by XL Recordings after a friend posted her demo on Myspace the same year. In 2007, she received the Brit Awards "Critics' Choice" award and won the BBC Sound of 2008 poll. Her debut album, 19, was released in 2008 to commercial and critical success. It is certified seven times platinum in the UK, and three times platinum in the US. The album contains her first song, "Hometown Glory", written when she was 16, which is based on her home suburb of West Norwood in London. An appearance she made on Saturday Night Live in late 2008 boosted her career in the US. At the 51st Grammy Awards in 2009, Adele received the awards for Best New Artist and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.

Adele released her second studio album, 21, in 2011. The album was critically well received and surpassed the success of her debut, earning numerous awards in 2012, among them a record-tying six Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year; two Brit Awards, including British Album of the Year; and three American Music Awards. The album has been certified 16 times platinum in the UK, and is overall the fourth best-selling album in the nation. In the US, it has held the top position longer than any album since 1985, and is certified diamond. The best-selling album worldwide of 2011 and 2012, 21 has sold over 31 million copies. The success of 21 earned Adele numerous mentions in the Guinness Book of World Records. She was the first female artist to simultaneously have two albums in the top five of the Billboard 200 and two singles in the top five of the Billboard Hot 100 as well as the first woman in the history of the Billboard Hot 100 to have three simultaneous top 10 singles as a lead artist with "Rolling in the Deep", "Someone Like You", and "Set Fire to the Rain", all of which also topped the chart. 21 is the longest-running number one album by a female solo artist in the history of the UK and US Album Charts.

In 2012, Adele released "Skyfall", which she co-wrote and recorded for the James Bond film of the same name. The song won an Academy Award, a Grammy Award, and a Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song, as well as the Brit Award for British Single of the Year. After taking a three-year break, Adele released her third studio album, 25, in 2015. It became the year's best-selling album and broke first-week sales records in the UK and US. 25 was her second album to be certified diamond in the US and earned her five Grammy Awards, including her second Grammy Award for Album of the Year, and four Brit Awards. The lead single, "Hello", became the first song in the US to sell over one million digital copies within a week of its release. Her third concert tour, Adele Live 2016, visited Europe, North America and Oceania, and concluded with finale concerts at Wembley Stadium in late June 2017.

In 2011, 2012, and 2016, Adele was named Artist of the Year by Billboard. At the 2012 and 2016 Ivor Novello Awards, Adele was named Songwriter of the Year by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers, and Authors. In 2012, she was listed at number five on VH1's 100 Greatest Women in Music. Time magazine named her one of the most influential people in the world in 2012 and 2016. Her 2016–17 tour saw her break attendance records in a number of countries, including the UK, Australia and the US. With sales of more than 100 million records, Adele is one of the world's best-selling music artists.

Albums/Movies/TV Shows



25 is the third studio album by English singer and songwriter Adele. It was released on 20 November 2015, through XL Recordings. Following the release and international success of her second studio album 21 (2011), Adele considered quitting the music industry and going out on a positive note. However, she decided to take a hiatus instead and raise her son. During her sabbatical, she suffered from writer's block and rescheduled studio sessions for a new album, fearing she had lost her ability to write songs. In 2013, Adele had a breakthrough and the material that eventually became 25 manifested, with writing and recording continuing through 2015.

Genre: Pop, soul, folk, R&B

Release date: Nov 20, 2015

25 Tracks
1 Why Do You Love Me 3:24 Lyrics
2 Hello 6:07 Lyrics
3 Send My Love (To Your New Lover) 3:38 Lyrics
4 I Miss You 5:04 Lyrics
5 When We Were Young 5:43 Lyrics
6 Remedy 4:00 Lyrics
7 Water Under The Bridge 4:30 Lyrics
8 River Lea 4:01 Lyrics
9 Love In The Dark 4:43 Lyrics
10 Million Years Ago 3:50 Lyrics
11 All I Ask 4:31 Lyrics
12 Sweetest Devotion 3:41 Lyrics
13 Can't Let Go 3:34 Lyrics
14 Lay Me Down 4:33 Lyrics



21 is the second studio album by English singer Adele. It was released on 24 January 2011 in most of Europe, and on 22 February 2011 in North America. The album was named after the age of the singer during its production. 21 shares the folk and Motown soul influences of her 2008 debut album 19, but was further inspired by the American country and Southern blues music to which she had been exposed during her 2008–09 North American tour An Evening with Adele. Composed in the aftermath of the singer's separation from her partner, the album typifies the near dormant tradition of the confessional singer-songwriter in its exploration of heartbreak, self-examination, and forgiveness.

Genre: Soul, pop, R&B

Release date: Jan 24, 2011

21 Tracks
1 One And Only 5:46 Lyrics
2 Lovesong 5:17 Lyrics
3 Someone Like You 4:45 Lyrics
4 I'll Be Waiting 4:02 Lyrics
5 Rolling In The Deep 3:54 Lyrics
6 Rumour Has It 4:15 Lyrics
7 Turning Tables 4:08 Lyrics
8 Don't You Remember 4:01 Lyrics
9 Set Fire To The Rain 4:00 Lyrics
10 He Won't Go 4:33 Lyrics
11 Take It All 3:51 Lyrics
12 I Found A Boy 3:36 Lyrics
13 If It Hadn't Been For Love 3:12 Lyrics
14 Hiding My Heart 3:29 Lyrics
15 Need You Now 3:49 Lyrics



19 is the debut studio album by English singer Adele. It was first released on 28 January 2008, through XL Recordings. Following Adele's graduation from the BRIT School for Performing Arts & Technology in May 2006, she began publishing songs and recorded a three-song demo for a class project and gave it to a friend. The friend posted the demo on Myspace, where it became very successful and led to interest from XL Recordings. This led to Adele signing a recording contract with the label and providing vocals for Jack Peñate, during this session for Peñate's song she met producer Jim Abbiss, who would go on to produce the majority of her debut album.

Genre: Blue-eyed soul

Release date: Jan 28, 2008

19 Tracks
1 Daydreamer 3:41 Lyrics
2 Best For Last 4:21 Lyrics
3 Chasing Pavements 3:41 Lyrics
4 Cold Shoulder 3:12 Lyrics
5 Crazy For You 3:29 Lyrics
6 Melt My Heart To Stone 3:26 Lyrics
7 First Love 4:29 Lyrics
8 Right As Rain 3:18 Lyrics
9 Make You Feel My Love 4:07 Lyrics
10 My Same 4:43 Lyrics
11 Tired 4:15 Lyrics
12 Hometown Glory 3:36 Lyrics
13 That's It, I Quit, I'm Movin' On 2:20 Lyrics
14 Now And Then 4:14 Lyrics
15 Painting Pictures 3:34 Lyrics
16 Many Shades Of Black 4:32 Lyrics

Related Content

Copyright © 2001 -, a Company - All rights reserved.