Disco Montego Album Review

Disco Montego Album Review
Dust off your dancin' shoes because DISCO MONTEGO are putting the boogie fever back onto dancefloors everywhere!

Darren and Dennis Dowlut's latest creation marks the return of these talented and passionate artists to the forefront of Australian music.

Taking inspiration for their name from a Spanish club, DISCO MONTEGO released popular dance single "We Got Love" mid-2001 to rave reviews.

DISCO MONTEGO work under the "anything is possible" credo to create fresh, pumping dance tracks that feel right at home on any dancefloor.

Having become two of Australia's most prolific and successful songwriters, DISCO MONTEGO are set to heat up the charts again and get the adrenaline pumping with their self-titled debut album.

To get the right vibe happening on the album, Darren and Dennis set about finding fresh faces on the music scene, to lend their vocal talents. The end result is an intoxicating cocktail of surprise and delight; a musical journey spanning the 70s through to the new millennium.

Boasting an eclectic selection of infectious, groove-laden and dynamic tracks, the album includes the singles "Beautiful" and the very funky "Magic", which feature ex-Bardot member, Katie Underwood on vocals.

Other standout tracks on the album include the sexy samba beat of "Alive" which sees Jade MacRae on vocals and "I Belong To You" which showcases the vocal talents of Melbourne R&B singer Jeremy.

The songs "Get Me Started" and "R U Talkin' To Me?" both step back in time to the 80s. Brimming with pop-tinged synths and electric guitar solos, they're guaranteed to get any dancefloor jumping!

A dance album just wouldn't be complete without one big diva house track and on this album, that track is the almighty "If Only Tonight" sung by Juanita Tippins. This talented singer also lends her powerful vocals on "Turning Around", another track featured on the album.

The tune "Because Of You" was an original song Darren and Dennis wrote back in the days as Kaylan. It has since been reworked into a disco dazzler and is one of the hot properties on this album.

Finally, the song "Stand Up" will have you begging for more as vocalist Rob Woolf cruises through this quirky 70s number!

With such a diverse collection of dance tracks, this debut album from DISCO MONTEGO is tipped to be one of the hottest and coolest albums released this year and will certainly blow your mind!



1. Magic
2. All I Want
3. Alive
4. We Got Love
5. Beautiful
6. I Belong To You
7. Get Me Started
8. If Only Tonight
9. Because of You
10. Turning Around
11. Stand Up
12. U Talkin' To Me


1. We Got Love (studio 347 mix)
2. Beautiful (Disco Montego mix)
3. Magic (Mark John & Simon Grey 12" L.A.P Ride)
4. Beautiful (James Ash mix)

The album will be released on September 9th through Warner Music.

- Annemarie Failla

Order Now from CD Wow