and the winner is ... Lee Cohen

Lee Cohen from Red's Salon and Spa, Cairns proves he is this country leading trend setter by winning the hairdressing industry's ultimate accolade Australian Hairdresser of the Year on Monday 1st March at a gala awards ceremony held at Sydney Town Hall.

"The Australian Hair Fashion Awards is the most prestigious and competitive awards in the hairdressing industry. To be acknowledged as the best of the best from amongst all of the extremely talented hairdressers in Australia is a huge honour," said Lee.

"One of the greatest things about the Australian Hair Fashion Awards is it creates a level playing field. If your collection captures international hair fashion trends and translates those trends into hair cuts and colour that your clients can achieve, it doesn't matter whether you come from Cairns, Sydney or Timbuctoo, you can still be awarded Australian Hairdresser of the Year."

The Australian Hair Fashion Awards are judged in London by a panel of the UK's most acclaimed hairdressers. According to UK judge Beverley Cobella (2002-2003 British Hairdresser of the Year). "The collections entered into the category of Australian Hairdresser of the Year were incredible. These images could have stepped out of Vogue, Tatler, Marie Claire or any other glossy magazine."

Nicolas Jurnjack was judged by Australia's fashion and beauty media to be this country's leading Session Stylist of the Year. Kellie Stratton was acknowledged Make-Up Artist of the Year and David Gubert received the accolade Fashion Photographer of the Year.
Shane Henning from Noddy's On King was acknowledged for his ongoing contribution to the Australian Hairdressing Industry with the title of Australian Masters.

Other winners from the 2004 Australian Hair Fashion Awards include:
  • Creative Colourist of the Year: Geoffrey Herberg, Chemistry for Hair, Brisbane
  • Men's Hairdresser of the Year: Grant Norton, Toni&Guy, Parramatta
  • NSW Hairdresser of the Year: Anthony Nader, Raw Hair, Sydney
  • VIC Hairdresser of the Year: Joey Scandizzo, Rokk Ebony, Melbourne
  • QLD Hairdresser of the Year: Lee Cohen, Reds Salon and Spa, Cairns
  • SA Hairdresser of the Year: Robert Bava, Toni&Guy, Adelaide
  • WA Hairdresser of the Year: Larry Duplock, Lexingtons, Perth
  • ACT Hairdresser of the Year: Angela Allport, Cataldo's Salon, Canberra
  • Apprentice of the Year: Nigel Hazon, Brad Ngata Hair Direction, Sydney
  • Artistic Team of the Year: Brad Ngata Hair Direction, Sydney
  • Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: Vass Eliadis, Identity Cut and Colour, Brisbane
  • Best New Product: Osis Scream by Schwarzkopf
  • Best New Packaging and Design: Aveda Light Elements by Aveda
  • Best Salon Design: Yummy Mummy's, Mosman
  • Salon Business of the Year: Brad Ngata Hair Direction, NSW

    The Australian Hair Fashion Awards are sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional.

    Read more hair fashion and hair style fashion articles.

    Ever wondered how Nicole Kidman defrizzed her hair? ... Bio Ionic Professional Hair Care Straigtening System -

  • MORE

    Copyright © 2001 -, a Company - All rights reserved.