2003 Australian Hair Fashion Awards

and the winner is... Mick Luppino

Mick Luppino from Luppino's Hairdressing in Fairfield West proves he is a cut ahead of the rest by winning the industry's ultimate accolade Australian Hairdresser of the Year on Monday 24 February at a gala awards ceremony held at Sydney Town Hall.

"The Australian Hair Fashion Awards is the most prestigious and competitive awards in the hairdressing industry. To be acknowledged as the best of the best by a panel of international judges is an incredible honour," said Mick Luppino.

Past winners of Australian Hairdresser of the Year including Adam Noble, Philip Barwick and Shane Henning.

"Mick's ability to translate international hair fashion trends into wearable hair styles made him a clear winner in this very competitive category," said David Lambert, chairman of UK judging panel. "It looks like fringes are back in style!"

Also presented at the 2003 Australian Hair Fashion Awards was Editorial Session Stylist of the Year. Australia's fashion and beauty media judged Brad Ngata from Brad Ngata Hair Directions in Surry Hills to be Australia's leading session stylist. Brad was recognises for his work on national and international fashion parades, advertising campaigns and magazine editorial shoots. Brad's work is frequently published in Australian consumer magazines and throughout the world.

"The past 12 months have been a whirl wind experience. My work with Tsubi and KMS Style Council has taken me around the world from London Fashion Week to Latin America. Mercedes Australia Fashion Week in Sydney and Melbourne has also kept me busy, but to be acknowledged by Australia's fashion and beauty media as Australia's leading session stylist tops it all," said Brad Ngata.

Joh Bailey from Joh Bailey Hair and Day Spa in Sydney, Melbourne and Double Bay was also acknowledged at the 2003 Australian Hair Fashion Awards for his ongoing contribution to the development of the Australian Hairdressing Industry. Joh was awarded the title of Australian Masters.

"What an amazing man. Joh Bailey has single handedly done more for the Australian hairdressing industry than any other person. A stylist to the stars, Joh client list reads like a page from the Who's Who with people like Princess Dianna, Kylie Minogue, Elle McPherson, Linda Evangelista and Tara Moss. Joh media coverage has made him a house hold name. This award recognises a lifetime of achievements," said Michelle Sewell, publishers of The Australian Hairdressers Journal.

Other winners from the 2003 Australian Hair Fashion Awards include:
Awards   Phone
NSW Hairdresser Jayne Wild
Wild Life Hairdressing, Milsons Point, NSW
(02) 9955 4990
VIC Hairdresser Caterina DiBiase
Heading Out Hair and Beauty, VIC
(03) 9419 1448
QLD Hairdresser Brad Rixon
Rixon Hair, Brisbane, QLD
(07) 3229 6755
SA Hairdresser Damien Rinaldo
Hair Machine, Grange, SA
(08) 8235 9477
WA Hairdresser Lisa Emery
Lee Preston, South Perth, WA
(08) 9367 3668
TAS Hairdresser Wayne Chappell
Picasso, Hobart, TAS
(03) 6224 0028
ACT Hairdresser Emilio Cataldo
Cataldo's, Canberra, ACT
(02) 6247 2877
Apprentice Hairdresser Monica McGowan
Wild Life Hairdressing, NSW
(02) 9955 4990
Creative Colourist Nancy Rao
Luppino's Hairdressing, Fairfield, NSW
(02) 9727 9326
Avant Garde Hairdresser Geoffrey Herberg
Chemistry for Hair, Brisbane, QLD
(07) 3210 6566
Men's Hairdresser Matthew Nischler
Nischler, Hobert, TAS
(03) 6234 3411
Artistic Team Wild Life Hairdressing
Milson's Point, NSW
(02) 9955 4990
Photographer Simon Upton
C/- The Eye Management, NSW
(02) 8354 0635
Make-Up Artist Rae Morris
(02) 9360 7165

The Australian Hair Fashion Awards are sponsored by Schwarzkopf Australia.

Read more hair fashion and hair style fashion articles.

Ever wondered how Nicole Kidman defrizzed her hair? ... Bio Ionic Professional Hair Care Straigtening System - www.femail.com.au/bio_ionic_hair_straightening.htm


Copyright © 2001 - Female.com.au, a Trillion.com Company - All rights reserved.