Spring Racing at its best The Age Caulfield Guineas Day

Spring Racing at its best The Age Caulfield Guineas Day

Spring Racing at its best The Age Caulfield Guineas Day

The BMW Caulfield Cup Carnival kicked off in style on Saturday the 8th of October with The Age Caulfield Guineas Day.

A record crowd of 32,126 attended for a thrilling day of racing, fashion and entertainment, continuing Caulfield's winning streak for the season so far: Carnival Preview Day attracted 11,800 patrons, almost 2,500 more than in 2010; the Members' Evening of Millinery Magic attracted a sell out 440 crowd, up from 250 from 2010 and The Age Caulfield Ladies Luncheon drew 12% more guests than last year.

Black Caviar didn't disappoint, winning the Schweppes Schillaci Stakes, her fourteenth consecutive win. On the fashion stage, hosted by Sonia Marinelli and Andrew Faulkner, heats and daily finals of the Stylish Ladies (18-40) and heats and Grand Finals of the Stylish Ladies (40+) and Stylish Gentlemen category took place. Jenny Beard took out first place in the Chadstone Fashion Stakes Stylish Ladies 40+, second place went to Lisa Wellings and third place to Teresa Grove. Ian Livock won the Chadstone Fashion Stakes Stylish Gentlemen, second place went to Tobias Morrison and third to Garry Burns.

Laura O'hare, Cecylia Kee and Joanne Weinzeirl were selected as the three finalists in the Stylish Ladies (18-40) to progress through to the Grand Final on BMW Caulfield Cup Day, Saturday 15Th October.

Judges included a selection of Melbourne's most respected in the fashion industry, including Janice Breen Burns, Laura Anderson, Philip Boon, Karen Webster, Cathryn Wills, Peter Jago, Cheryl Weir, Rick Molinsky, Luc Wiesman, Tania Braukamper, Sarah Willcocks, Scott Fiora.

The Champagne Pommery Pegasus Club Marquee was abuzz with some of Melbourne's finest personalities including the BMW Caulfield Cup Carnival Fashion and Social Ambassador, Giaan Rooney; the Face of Caulfield, Bree Laughlin; Brodie Harper, Heath Meldrum, Natalie Garonzi, Rhys Ulrich, Scott McGregor, Damian Barrett, Jacqueline Felgate, Famer Kev, Farmer Trent and James Brayshaw.

The Young Members Cruiser Carnivale marquee played host to some of Melbourne's finest young things, including Amberley Lobo (Studio Three), Kayne Tremills (Studio Three), Blake Davis (The Slap), Thomas Lacey (Dance Academy), Jared Daperis (The Cup, Small Time Gangster), Clyde Boraine (Angry Boys) and Damien Bodie (Winners and Losers).

Sneaky Sound System capped off the day with an epic performance that drew hundreds of race goers to the Fashion and Entertainment stage just after the last race.