Monarchy The Complete Series 1-3

Monarchy The Complete Series 1-3

Monarchy The Complete Series 1-3

Dr David Starkey's complete history of the British Monarchy, which reveals the epic and bloody stories of our Kings and Queens and charts the course of the oldest surviving political institution in Europe.

History on TV has become big business and eminent historian Dr. David Starkey is considered by many to be the jewel in its crown.

In the "Monarchy" series, Starkey provides an in-depth examination of Britains royal family and its relationship with the English people, Parliament, laws and land throughout history.

It is, however, more than just the biographies of the royals of England--the knowledgeable presenter uses his unique and engaging gift as a communicator to bring the colourful characters of these powerful individuals to life. The importance of the rich heritage of the Anglo-Saxon kings is underlined, and among those most heavily featured are Alfred the Great, Canute, Edward the Confessor, William the Conqueror, Henry II, Richard Lionheart, Henry III and Henry VI.

This must-have box set includes Series 1, 2 and 3 of this interesting and surprising series.

Series One: The first series of Dr David Starkey's history of the British monarchy takes us from Alfred the Great, who helped drag a barely formed England out of the Dark Ages, to Shakespeare's powerful and illustrious hero kings.

Series Two: Dr David Starkey presents the second part of his complete history of the British monarchy, which he portrays as a crucial and sometimes violent dialogue between the people and the monarch, through which the very nature of our society was forged.

Series Three: The third series charts events in the 17th and 18th centuries - from the remarkable restoration of the English monarchy in 1660 until the crisis occasioned by the execution of King Louis XVI of France in 1793.

Review: Fascinating indepth look into the history of the British Monarchy. Perfect Christmas present for history hound dad's this Christmas. Enlightening tale of what really went on in the Monarchy and the quest for power.

Monarchy The Complete Series 1-3
RRP: $59.95 6-Disc Set


Copyright © 2001 -, a Company - All rights reserved.