Caroline Polachek Ocean Of Tears and Parachute

Caroline Polachek Ocean Of Tears and Parachute

Caroline Polachek has released double single 'Ocean Of Tears' and 'Parachute'. Both tracks are lifted from Polachek's forthcoming solo album, PANG, coming this fall via Columbia Records.

'Parachute' was the first song written for PANG, and also the beginning of her ongoing collaboration with producer / composer Danny L Harle. With the most passionate and progressive songwriting of Caroline's career to date, her fiber-optic vocal runs cascade through a brooding fog of synth. The lyrics are a direct transcription of a dream Caroline had written down a week prior to writing the music, in which she accepts her own death only to find herself saved.

"It was an incredible moment, realizing that this melody we'd written was unintentionally re-telling a dream I'd been shaken by. I went home, re-drafted the words to fit, and came back to the studio at 1am to record the vocal the same day. And that's the take we kept. From that moment on, Dan and I knew we had a lot more work to do together."

Caroline reflects: "'Parachute' is about the total trust that only comes with total emergency. Like a mayfly trying its wings for the first time over a large body of water full of hungry fish... and the wings work."

Coincidentally, 'Ocean Of Tears' was the last song written for PANG. A mercury-poisoned aria with hooks sharper than a tackle box, the track is a seamless melding of hard bass from Danny L Harle with twisted sheets of guitar from NYC experimentalist Eartheater. Caroline says, "'Ocean Of Tears' is dedicated to the sharp pain of being in love with someone far away, and the maddening doubt that comes with it." Written by Caroline Polachek, Nate Campany, and Kyle Shearer, 'Ocean Of Tears' was produced by Caroline Polachek, Danny L Harle, and Valley Girl with additional production by A. G. Cook. Caroline adds: "I'd really like someone to figure skate to this at the 2022 Winter Olympics."

PANG is Caroline's first solo album to be released under her own name. The album will feature lead single 'Door', along with 'Ocean Of Tears' and 'Parachute'. More details to come.