Manic Street Preachers Rewind The Film

Manic Street Preachers Rewind The Film

Manic Street Preachers Rewind The Film

Sony Music Entertainment Australia is excited to announce that Manic Street Preachers will release their first studio album since 2010. -Rewind The Film' will be released on 13th September 2013 through Sony Music Entertainment Australia and is released almost three years to the day since -Postcards From A Young Man'. -Rewind The Film' sees the band with a more reflective, stripped-back sound whilst maintaining the classic Manics melody and unique lyricism.

The songs available show the different sides of the album, with the title track -Rewind The Film' being a brooding, cinematic 6.30 mins track, atmospheric and climactic with Richard Hawley and James Dean Bradfield trading vocals. Hawley commented "I am so chuffed to have been asked to sing with the mighty Manics, can't tell you what it means to me. The whole experience is something I'll treasure forever – I love the Manics and what they stand for and to be a tiny part of that means the world to me." -Show Me The Wonder' is an upbeat, positive pop song but with questioning lyrics. Soaring horns and a joyous chorus makes it a stand out track on what is otherwise a delicate record.

Recorded in their own studio Faster in Cardiff, Rockfield in Monmouthshire and Hansa in Berlin (the first time the band have recorded there), -Rewind The Film' features 12 tracks of classic musicianship and lyrical themes which include the rock -n' roll dream, Thatcherism and inspiration from subjects as varied as Manorbier Castle, Skids/Big Country's late singer/guitarist Stuart Adamson, 'Werner Herzog's -Burden of Dreams' and Welsh poet RS Thomas. The Manics describe it as '(If) this record has a relation in the Manics back catalogue, it's probably the sedate coming of age that was -This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours'."

Following in the tradition of inspired collaborations (Nina Persson from The Cardigans on -Your Love Alone' / Ian McCulloch -Some Kind of Nothingness' amongst others) opening track -This Sullen Welsh Heart' features Lucy Rose and -4 Lonely Roads' has lead vocals from Cate Le Bon – as well as of course the title track with Richard Hawley.

The band have returned to the UK from their recent trip to Australia and New Zealand where they played several shows to tie in with the British and Irish Lions rugby tour. The band will headline the Festival Number 6 in Portmeirion, Wales in September and then head out for a short intimate UK tour with support from Public Service Broadcasting.

-Rewind the Film' is the group's eleventh studio album for the label, making them the longest signed artists to Columbia having joined them in 1991 and released their debut album -Generation Terrorists' the following year.

Rewind The Film Tracklisting:

This Sullen Welsh Heart

Show Me The Wonder

Rewind The Film

Builder of Routines

4 Lonely Roads
(I Miss The) Tokyo Skyline

Anthem For A Lost Cause

As Holy As The Soil (That Buries Your Skin)

3 Ways To See Despair

Running Out Of Fantasy


30 Year War

Manic Street Preachers new album 'Rewind The Film" available September 13th, 2013.


Copyright © 2001 -, a Company - All rights reserved.