The Shins Heartworms

The Shins Heartworms

The Shins Heartworms

The Shins have today released their incredible fifth studio album, Heartworms, through Aural Apothecary/Columbia Records through Sony Music Australia.


In contrast to 2012's Port Of Morrow, which debuted at #3 on the US Billboard Top 200, #4 on the ARIA Album Chart and was nominated for a Best Alternative Album Grammy, Heartworms ushers in a return to the handmade. Heartworms is, as always, entirely written by James Mercer. However, with the exception of So Now What (produced by Richard Swift), Heartworms is the first Shins album to be self-produced by Mercer since Oh, Inverted World in 2001.


Heartworms features Mercer's most diverse lyrical palette to date: From fictional character sketches (Fantasy Island, Rubber Ballz), autobiographical accounts (Mildenhall), to first single Name For You, a resounding call for female empowerment inspired by Mercer's three daughters.


The result is a cohesive, genre defying album marked by Mercer's distinct voice and melodic composition. Unified by his singular vision, Mercer creates a sound that is both familiar – a nostalgic nod to the album's predecessors - and distinctly new.


Heartworms Tracklisting

1.    Name For You

2.    Painting a Hole

3.    Cherry Hearts

4.    Fantasy Island

5.    Mildenhall

6.    Rubber Ballz

7.    Half a Million

8.    Dead Alive

9.    Heartworms

10. So Now What

11. The Fear


The record will be supported by a world tour, on which Mercer will be joined by Yuuki Matthews (bass), Jon Sortland (drums), Mark Watrous (guitar, keys, vocals), Casey Foubert (guitar) and Patti King (keys).