The Best Of Kate Miller-Heidke: Act One

The Best Of Kate Miller-Heidke: Act One

The Best Of Kate Miller-Heidke: Act One

There are not enough superlatives to describe the love and respect that award-winning singer songwriter Kate Miller-Heidke commands, as she effortlessly traverses the worlds of contemporary pop, folk and opera, showcasing the most incredible vocal pipes in the business!


Now comes the ultimate reflection of her brilliant career, -The Best Of Kate Miller-Heidke: Act One', a collection of 37 songs in a 2 disc package, set for release on December 2. Fans will be thrilled with the album's new song - feminist anthem in the making, -You've Underestimated Me, Dude', and its electrifying video by visual artist Amy Gebhardt, both impacting media this Friday alongside the album pre-order.


-The Best Of Kate Miller-Heidke: Act One' represents Kate's albums O Vertigo!, Nightflight, Live At The Hi-Fi, Curiouser and Little Eve, along with a selection of rarities, covers and live versions - including previously unreleased material. 


Disc One features 20 of Kate's most beloved tracks, including the smash hit -The Last Day On Earth', the grand prize winner of the 2009 International Songwriting Competition, -Caught In The Crowd', the YouTube viral sensation -Are You Fucking Kidding Me', and the devastating -Where?', from Kate's Helpmann Award winning musical, The Rabbits.


Disc Two features a selection of rare and unreleased tracks, including two fan favourites from Kate's long out of print early EP Comikaze, the previously unreleased -Elysian Fields' performed with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, the lost track from Nightflight, -Southern Cross Tattoo', with Ben Folds on piano, and a suite of recordings from the 2013 Heavenly Sounds live tour – fans who have long requested these tracks in a physical format have finally had their request fulfilled!


Kate's studio albums have achieved multi-platinum and top 10 chart status numerous times. O Vertigo! debuted at number 4 on the ARIA Albums Chart and earned an ARIA award nomination. Nightflight reached number 2 on the ARIA Albums Chart, and Curiouser achieved double platinum sales in Australia, spawning the multi-platinum hits -Last Day On Earth' and -Caught In The Crowd'.


Trained as a classical singer at the Queensland Conservatorium, Kate recently appeared at the Metropolitan Opera in New York in John Adams' The Death of Klinghoffer. She has performed several roles for the English National Opera, and in Jerry Springer The Opera at the Sydney Opera House.


Her debut opera as a composer, The Rabbits (based on the book by Shaun Tan and John Marsden), was commissioned by Opera Australia and premiered at the Perth Festival in February 2015, followed by sold out seasons in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.  It won four Helpmann Awards including Best Score and Best New Australian Work. 


Kate has been widely praised for her unique ability to combine moving, heartfelt songs and laugh out loud humour, as Sydney Symphony Orchestra states, "If you've seen The Rabbits - or any performance by Kate Miller-Heidke - you'll know what an amazingly versatile musician and gifted creator she is. In her own words, The Rabbits is "an opera / musical / song-cycle / weird pop concert / puppet show / art-play." Phew! She's classically trained, yet her style crosses contemporary pop, folk and opera. Her songs are stamped with witty humour and poignant insight - always touching."

In 2015 Kate broke into national television, featuring in The Divorce, a four-part ABC mini-series. Both The Rabbits and The Divorce were nominated for Best Soundtrack/Cast Recording at the 2016 ARIA Awards.  And in a nod to Kate's musical breadth and diversity, the track -I'm Growing A Beard Downstairs For Christmas' featuring The Beards was also nominated at this year's ARIA Awards, for Best Comedy Release.


In January 2016, Kate performed a suite of her songs with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra at Mona Foma in Hobart, with visuals created by artist Amy Gerhardt. The show won the Helpmann Award for Best Australian Contemporary Concert for 2016. 

The show will be performed in other cities around Australia in 2017:

January 28: MELBOURNE EXHIBITION & CONVENTION CENTRE – with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

March 10: QPAC BRISBANE – with the Camerata Of St John's Orchestra

March 24 & 25: SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE – with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

March 31: PERTH CONCERT HALL – with the West Australian Symphony Orchestra

April 7: CANBERRA THEATRE – with the National Pops Orchestra

April 11: FEDERATION CONCERT HALL, HOBART – with the Tasmania Symphony Orchestra


-The Best Of Kate Miller-Heidke ::Act One' Tracklisting:


1.     Space They Cannot Touch

2.     Words

3.     Mama

4.     Little Adam

5.     Can't Shake It

6.     Caught In The Crowd

7.     The Last Day On Earth

8.     Are You Fucking Kidding Me?

9.     Walking On A Dream

10.  Ride This Feeling

11.  Sarah

12.  I'll Change Your Mind

13.  The Tiger Inside Will Eat The Child

14.  O Vertigo!

15.  Share Your Air ft. Passenger

16.  Drama ft. Drapht

17.  Sing To Me (Denzal Park Mix)

18.  I'm Growing A Beard Downstairs For Christmas ft. The Beards

19.  You've Underestimated Me, Dude *

20.  Where? with Iain Grandage


DISC TWO: Rarities, Covers and Live Versions

1.     Dreams/I Love You

2.     Australian Idol

3.     Southern Cross Tattoo *

4.     White Wine In The Sun

5.     Hey Little Girl (Live)

6.     Love Is A Stranger (Live)

7.     Hornets (Live)

8.     God's Gift To Women (Live)

9.     The Devil Wears A Suit (Live)

10.  Humiliation (Live)

11.  In The Dark (Live)

12.  Bliss (Live)

13.  Yours Was The Body (Live)

14.  O Vertigo! (Live)

15.  Sarah (Live)

16.  Can't Shake It (Live)

17.  Elysian Fields (Live with the TSO) *

 *previously unreleased


-You've Underestimated Me, Dude' available instantly with pre-order from this Friday November 18.

The signed album is available with pre-order through JB Hi-FI

Exclusive t-shirt available as part of a pre-order bundle through