Gaz Coombes Matador

Gaz Coombes Matador

Gaz Coombes Matador

A sense of space permeates every second of Matador's thirty-nine minutes. From the astral gorgeousness of -The Girl Who Fell To Earth' to the dream-like cadences of -Oscillate', it's the sound of a songwriter melting musical boundaries like snow; merging elements of Neu!, Disney musicals, Swedish psychedelicists Goat, Gyorgy Ligeti and Eno in a glacial soundscape as ambitious as it is beautiful. The result is an album in the classic sense. Matador is the sound of one of Britain's greatest songwriters facing the future with a flourish.


As the exuberant frontman for the boundlessly imaginative Brit-pop group Supergrass, Gaz Coombes at one point seemed to be an eternal teenager.  Artistic growth and evolution sees the respected singer songwriter preparing to release his second solo album Matador, on February 6, 2015. The self-produced follow up to 2012's Here Come The Bombs was recorded in Gaz's home studio and Courtyard Studios in Oxfordshire. Everything on the record was played by Gaz, with the exception of drums on four tracks by Loz Colbert, synths on -Buffalo' by Charly Coombes; backing vocals across the record come from Beverlei Brown and Faith Simpson. 

The full tracklisting for
Matador is:

1.     Buffalo

2.     20/20

3.     The English Ruse

4.     The Girl Who Fell To Earth

5.     Detroit

6.     Needle's Eye

7.     Seven Walls

8.     Oscillate

9.     To The Wire

10.  Is It On?

11.  Matador


Listen to the first single -20/20' here  and  watch the teaser trailer for Matador here


The album is available for pre-order from iTunes


Gaz Coombes website