The Jimi Hendrix Experience Electric Ladyland Deluxe Edition 50th Anniversary Box Set

The Jimi Hendrix Experience Electric Ladyland Deluxe Edition 50th Anniversary Box Set

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the release of the Jimi Hendrix Experience masterpiece ELECTRIC LADYLAND, Experience Hendrix, L.L.C. and Legacy Recordings, the catalogue division of Sony Music Entertainment, are releasing the Deluxe Edition box set on November 9. Available as either a 3CD/1 Blu-ray set or a 6LP/1 Blu-ray set, both packages include the original double album, now newly remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analogue tapes. For the LP set, Grundman prepared an all analogue direct to disc vinyl transfer of the album, preserving the authenticity. Also included is ELECTRIC LADYLAND: THE EARLY TAKES , which presents demos and studio outtakes from this period in Hendrix's career, plus a new 5.1, surround sound mix of the entire original album by Hendrix's original engineer Eddie Kramer. This marks the first and only time this has been done with a Hendrix studio album, and gives listeners the original stereo mixes in uncompressed 24 bit/96 kz high resolution audio.

"I had always dreamed of mixing ELECTRIC LADYLAND in 5.1 surround sound," says Eddie Kramer, who engineered every Hendrix album made during his life, and produced or co-produced nearly all of his posthumous material. "It always felt to me as the perfect vehicle for the kind of adventuresome stuff that Jimi and I were trying to do in 1968. The visceral thrill when we completed the first surround mix of 'Voodoo Child (Slight Return)' was palpable. It was an overwhelming experience"pun intended. We viewed this song as the surround test and the moment I heard it I flashed back on those moments when Jimi and I were mixing the stereo album, laughing at our attempts to find that 'elusive' sound." The Blu-ray for ELECTRIC LADYLAND DELUXE EDITION will contain these 5.1 surround sound mixes – a first for any studio album in the Hendrix canon.

JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE: LIVE AT THE HOLLYWOOD BOWL 9/14/68, part of Experience Hendrix's Dagger Records official bootleg series, is another exclusive component. The never before released recording captures the band and the mounting excitement that took place just weeks before the release of ELECTRIC LADYLAND. The Blu-ray also includes the acclaimed, feature length documentary AT LAST… THE BEGINNING: THE MAKING OF ELECTRIC LADYLAND.

Lastly, ELECTRIC LADYLAND DELUXE EDITION includes a full colour, 48-page book containing Jimi's handwritten lyrics, poem and instructions to his record label, as well as never before published photos from the recording sessions that were shot by Eddie Kramer himself.

Watch the ELECTRIC LADYLAND trailer featuring long-time Jimi Hendrix producer, Eddie Kramer here.

Track Listing
Electric Ladyland Deluxe Edition includes:
Electric Ladyland – original album remixed by Eddie Kramer and remastered by Bernie Grundman

Side A
1. … And the Gods Made Love
2. Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)
3. Crosstown Traffic
4. Voodoo Chile

Side B
1. Little Miss Strange
2. Long Hot Summer Night
3. Come On (Part I)
4. Gypsy Eyes
5. Burning of the Midnight Lamp

Side C
1. Rainy Day, Dream Away
2. 1983….(A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
3. Moon, Turn the Tides….Gently Gently Away

Side D
1. Still Raining, Still Dreaming
2. House Burning Down
3. All Along the Watchtower
4. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

At Last…The Beginning: The Making of Electric Ladyland: The Early Takes

Side A
1. 1983…(A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
2. Voodoo Chile
3. Cherokee Mist
4. Hear My Train A Comin'

Side B
1. Angel
2. Gypsy Eyes
3. Somewhere
4. Long Hot Summer Night [Demo 1]
5. Long Hot Summer Night [Demo 3]
6. Long Hot Summer Night [Demo 4]
7. Snowballs At My Window
8. My Friend

Side C
1. At Last…The Beginning
2. Angel Caterina (1983)
3. Little Miss Strange
4. Long Hot Summer Night [Take 1]
5. Long Hot Summer Night [Take 14]

Side D
1. Rainy Day, Dream Away
2. Rainy Day Shuffle
3. 1983...(A Merman I Should Turn To Be)

Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At The Hollywood Bowl Sept. 14, 1968 (Dagger Records)

Side A
1. Introduction
2. Are You Experienced
3. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

Side B
1. Red House
2. Foxey Lady
3. Fire

Side C
1. Hey Joe
2. Sunshine of Your Love
3. I Won't Live Today

Side D
1. Little Wing
2. Star Spangled Banner
3. Purple Haze

At Last… The Beginning: The Making of Electric Ladyland documentary (Blu-ray)
• Uncompressed LPCM Stereo 24b/96k
• Uncompressed LPCM 5.1 Surround 24b/96k
• DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 Surround 24b/96k

Founded by James 'Al' Hendrix, Jimi's father, in 1995, Experience Hendrix has been run, since its inception, by the family members handpicked by Al during his tenure as Chairman. It is the official family company charged with managing the music, name, image and likeness of Jimi Hendrix. As a part of their daily operations, Experience Hendrix and Authentic Hendrix oversee Jimi's timeless legacy on a worldwide basis.