Yamato the Drummers of Japan

Yamato the Drummers of Japan

Since their hugely successful tour to Australia in 2017, the sensational YAMATO DRUMMERS OF JAPAN have been incredibly busy this year alone playing a 3-week season in London's West End and visiting Switzerland, Italy and Holland. Now Australian audiences have the chance to hear the heart-thumping rhythm, thunderous sounds and explosive beats once again when Yamato tour to Queensland from 30 July then NSW from 20 August, Victoria 28 August, South Australia from 30 August and finishing in Western Australia from 10 September 2019.

Made up of 14 musicians, male and female, who hail from Japan's Nara Prefecture, this year marks Yamato's 25th anniversary, celebrating over 3,700 performances in 54 countries, reaching over 7 million fans young and old presenting a thrilling, high-energy and explosive interpretation of the centuries old Taiko tradition.

Yamato's current show is aptly named PASSION as the drummers launch into an explosion of energetic, highly rhythmic drumming, challenging and pushing themselves to their absolute limits. Using drums that weigh up to half a tonne, the drummers' remarkable physical strength and trademark infectious energy leaves audiences exhilarated by this visually spectacular, high energy and explosive show.

Captivated by the distinctive boom of the enormous taiko drum, performers move their whole bodies to strike the drum with a powerful surge of energy that uplifts audiences in sync with the rhythm and intensity providing a dazzling perspective of the range of sound and mood drums are capable of.

QUEENSLAND

Tuesday 30 July – Rockhampton
PILBEAM THEATRE, 7.30PM

Thursday 1 August – Mackay
ENTERTAINMENT CONVENTION CENTRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 3 August – Charters Towers
WORLD THEATRE, 2PM

Sunday 4 August – Capella
CULTURAL CENTRE, 4PM

Tuesday 6 August – Ayr
BURDEKIN THEATRE, 7.30PM

Thursday 8 August – Gladstone
ENTERTAINMENT CONVENTION CENTRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 10 August – Bundaberg
MONCRIEFF ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE, 7.30PM

Sunday 11 August – Maryborough
BROLGA THEATRE, 4PM

Thursday 15 August – Ipswich
CIVIC CENTRE, 7.30PM

Friday 16 August – Toowoomba
THE ARMITAGE CENTRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 17 August – Redland
REDLAND PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE, 7.30PM

Sunday 18 August – Bokarina
VENUE 114, 3PM

NEW SOUTH WALES

Tuesday 20 August – Tamworth
TOWN HALL, 7.30PM

Wednesday 21 August – Taree
MANNING ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE, 7PM

Thursday 22 August – Wollongong
ILLAWARRA PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 24 August – Parramatta (2 shows)
RIVERSIDE THEATRE, 4PM & 6PM

Monday 26 August – Dubbo
REGIONAL THEATRE, 7.30PM

VICTORIA

Wednesday 28 August – Albury
ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE, 7.30PM

SOUTH AUSTRALIA

Friday 30 August – Noarlunga
HOPGOOD THEATRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 31 August & Sunday 1 Sept – Adelaide
STAR THEATRE, 4PM & 7.30PM

Tuesday 3 September – Mount Gambier
HELPMANN THEATRE, 7.30PM

Thursday 5 September – Tanunda
BAROSSA ARTS AND CONVENTION CENTRE, 7PM

Friday 6 September – Port Pirie
NORTHERN FESTIVAL CENTRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 7 September – Whyalla
MIDDLEBACK THEATRE, 4PM

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Tuesday 10 September – Esperance
CIVIL CENTRE, 7.30PM

Thursday 12 September – Albany
ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE, 7.30PM

Saturday 14 September – Perth
REGAL THEATRE, 4PM & 6PM

Sunday 15 September – Mandurah
MANDURAH PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE, 6.30PM

www.yamatodrummers.com




MORE